For the first time a New Zealand Warriors player has won the Dally M Medal. Fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck was then greeted with an emotional Haka as a mark of respect.

Liam Clarkson reports.


Footy’s biggest stars graced the red carpet in Sydney for the Dally M Awards.

The fashion never disappoints and the players’ partners delivered.

Then inside the big announcement.

Mal Meninga, Rugby League Immortal: “The 2018 Dally M Medallist of the Year – Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.”

Tuivasa-Sheck edged out Newcastle’s Kalyn Ponga by two votes to become the first New Zealand Warriors player to win the award.

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, 2018 Dally M Medallist: ” I want to thank everyone at the club, and wish all the boys and the girls this weekend, go out there and kill it. I’m excited for it. Thank you guys.”

Tuivasa-Sheck’s win was celebrated by his New Zealand team mates with an impromptu haka, that caught everyone by surprise.

It was a big night for the Broncos too, as fullback Ja-mayne Isaako took out Rookie of the Year.

Jamayne Isaako, NRL Rookie of the Year: “Oh look, there’s not too many words I can say other than I’m truly humbled to have received this award.”

Brisbane’s Brittany Breayley won the Female Player of the Year award.

Brittany Breayley, Female Player of the Year: “Thank you to the Broncos for taking us on for the season. You’ve been a really supportive club and we couldn’t have done it without your support.”

Sam Thaiday is giving the game away this year, and looked like he might try for a comedy career with a cheeky dig at fellow retiree, Johnathan Thurston.

Sam Thaiday, Brisbane Broncos: “JT gets a testimonial match, I didn’t. Seriously. He’s like the richest guy in rugby league and we’ve given him more money.”

All eyes now turn to Sunday’s Grand Final.

Liam Clarkson, QUT News.