The NRL has awarded Johnathan Thurston and Jarryd Hayne as winners of the 2014 Dally M medal for Player of the Year.

It’s the first time the medal has gone to joint winners.

Jacinta Lal reports.


Football may have brought them out to Sydney’s Star Casino but it was fashion that had everyone talking.

For footy’s wives and girlfriends, it was a chance to out-dazzle their partners.

The excitement continued inside with Aussie singer Jessica Mauboy firing up the crowd.

North Queensland’s Johnathan Thurston was the overwhelming favourite to win his third Dally M award.

In a history making finish, an unexpected tie saw Thurston and Jarryd Hayne both finish on 32 votes.

The Cowboys captain joins Andrew Johns as the only player to earn a hat-trick of Dally M wins.

It’s the second win for Hayne, the Parramatta star was also crowned the game’s best in 2009.

The pair won several other awards each, Hayne also named fullback and representative player of the year.

Thurston also won the five-eighth of the year and People’s Choice award.

Johnathan Thurston, Joint Dally M winner: “Look it’s, it’s mind blowing and very humbling, I’m shaking.”

In other awards, Manly skipper Jamie Lyon was named Captain of the Year.

The best half-back went to Daly Cherry-Evans and the top coaching award went to the Warrior’s Ivan Cleary.

There were honours too for English stars James Graham and Sam Burgess named best prop and lock.

Wests Tigers teenager Luke Brooks was recognised as Rookie of the Year.

Jacinta Lal, QUT News.