Brisbane’s own Cooper Cronk has won his first NRL Dally M Medal.

Cronk beat three other players by just two points, but there were also some winners and losers on the red carpet.

Maritza Munoz reports.


It wasn’t all about football, with players wives and girlfriends strutting their stuff before the ceremony.

One designer in particular winning the ladies choice for the night.

Vox 1: “Steven Khalil. He did my wedding dress so he did this dress too.”

Vox 2: “Steven Khalil. No one else.”

Inside, it was a good night to be a Queenslander.

Announcer: “And the winner of the 2013 Dally M Medal is Cooper Cronk.”

The Melbourne Storm halfback took out the prestigious medal by just two points.

Cooper Cronk, Dally M Medal winner: “It’s an absolute pleasure to be here tonight to be symbolised as a player today, it’s a humbling experience.”

Fellow Queenslanders Johnathan Thurston and Daly Cherry-Evans tied with Todd Carney for second best.

With Greg Inglis, Cameron Smith and Brisbane’s Corey Parker all named best in their position.

The Rooster’s Trent Robinson took out coach of the year.

Trent Robinson, Dally M Coach of the Year: “The focus has been all year for us to obviously win this weekend, so there’s a lot of awards and lots of things said in the season, but it counts what happens on Sunday.”

The only award left – this weekend’s title of grand final champions.

Maritza Munoz, QUT News.