Congratulations to QUT students who took out the 2010 awards for some of the best journalism produced over the past year.

Lizzie Stafford, Ellie Sibson, Annabelle Carter and Letisha Willocks (left to right)

Ellie Sibson picked up the Best Television Journalist award, sponsored by Heather Jones and Channel 9, while Letisha Willocks won the Best Radio Journalist award, sponsored by Austereo.

The Best Print Journalist, sponsored by Queensland Newspapers, went to Elizabeth Stafford who also won the David English Award, presented by David’s widow and Channel 10 presenter Lexy Hamilton-Smith.

The Best Online Journalist, sponsored by the Creative Industries Faculty, went to Jill Hogan and the Channel 10 Best Intern award went to Anabelle Carter.

In collaboration between QUT and the Ethnic Communities Council Queensland, the award for Intercultural Journalism went to Nadya Natahadibrata, from Jakarta, Indonesia.

QUT’s professor of Journalism, Media & Communication Brian McNair praised the efforts of all the students who entered the awards, and the award winners.

“Awards are an important way of recognising the excellent work that journalism students do,” he said.

“Professional journalists value their awards and so should students.

He also thanked the industry sponsors.

“We very much value the support of our sponsors in 2010 and look forward to working with them in future years,” he said.

Other awards include:

Best Print News Story – Tijana Jaksic
Highly Commended, Elly Bradfield

Best Radio News Story – Ashleigh Elliott

Best Radio Current Affairs Story – Amy Stewart
Highly Commended, Siobhan Hegarty

Best Television News Story – Ellie Sibson
Highly Commended, Siobhan Hegarty

Best Online Story – Vanessa Fuchs
Highly Commended, Kate Boston

Best Feature Story – Anna Angel

Best Story by an International Student – Shitika Anand

Best Story on a Mental Health Issue – Anna Angel